USB-Ethernet for MiniX media player

Back in September I purchased a MiniX clone from DealExtreme. The device appears functional, and pre-rooted for convenient access via ADB. However, WiFi connectivity was…. pathetic.

In the past few days I’ve received two cheap USB-Ethernet adapters from DealExtreme that solved my network connectivity problems. One is based on DM96xx chipset, the other on an ASIX chipset.

Davicom DM96xx-based unit

On November 8th I received this cheap USB-Ethernet adapter from DealExtreme, which apparently uses a Davicom DM96xx series chipset.

Turned off WiFi on my MiniX, plugged the USB-Ethernet adapter in and within a few seconds (for DHCP to grab a local LAN address) I’ve got reliable, high-speed Internet access! YouTube works (well, as good as YouTube ever usually is), app updates via Google Play are quick, life is good.

The device is supported under Linux by the DM9601 driver. One thing to note, although this is a 10/100Mbps LAN port married to a USB 2.0 compliant interface, the USB side is (apparently) limited to USB 1.1 speeds.

I was able to get Ethernet connectivity using either USB port on the MiniX (the ‘regular’ and the ‘OTG’ ports). One caveat — when I tried plugging the USB-Ethernet adapter into a 4-port USB hub, along with my USB keyboard and USB mouse, and the keyboard/mouse combo appeared to freeze. So I plugged the keyboard/mouse into the MiniX’s regular USB port, and the USB-Ethernet adapter into the OTG port and they all worked fine.

ASIX-based unit

On November 12th I received another cheap USB-Ethernet adapter from DealExtreme, which apparently uses an ASIX Electronics series chipset.

As with the DM96xx-based adapter, I turned off WiFi on my MiniX, plugged the new USB-Ethernet adapter into the MiniX’s OTG USB port and within a few seconds (for DHCP to grab a local LAN address) I’ve got reliable, high-speed Internet access! YouTube works (well, as good as YoutTube ever usually is), app updates via Google Play are quick, life is good.

It appears this adapter really does support USB 2.0 speeds.

Conclusion

So there you have it. If your MiniX clone isn’t playing nice via WiFi, try a cheap USB-Ethernet adapter.

One comment

  1. Hi, I hope you can help me: I’ve connected my Minix Neo X8-H plus to a switch with an Ethernet cable. From the Minix I can connect to my laptop and play movies from it’s hard disk, but how can I access the Minix (I’ve connected an external HD to it) from my laptop? I can’t see the minix on the network. I always worked with my old Xtreamer.

    Thanks in advance!
    Don

Leave a Reply

